SCEPPC Meeting Notes 1 June 2006

The phone conference call began at 2:00 pm. On call: Colette DeGarady, John Brubaker, Robin Mackie, Barbara Daniels, Lisa Lord, Bill Hulsander, Larry Nelson, Valerie Carter Stone, and Lori Sheridan Wilson.

Board Members:

President: vacant Vice President: Larry Nelson Treasurer/Membership: Colette DeGarady Secretary: Lisa Lord Members at Large: Kathie Ellingson, Sudie Davis, John Brubaker, Helen Legree, and Travis Rogers

Committee Chairs:

EDRR: Randy Westbrooks Education/Outreach: Lori Sheridan Wilson Data Coordination: Colette DeGarady Privet Control Task Force: Matt Nespaca Urban Kudzu Control Task Force): Barbara Daniels Kudzu Control Task Force: Newt Hardie SC Invasive Plant List: (vacant, but a number of suggestions were offered) Robin will contact Sudie Davis. Web Site Updates: Robin Mackie

The meeting began by identifying board members and members at large that were previously determined and then filling remaining available positions. The presidency is still vacant. Larry Nelson has offered to lead future meetings if given an agenda until this position is filled.

The current account is at the Wachovia in Clemson. The group suggested it is moved to a Wachovia in Mt. Pleasant to allow Treasurer Colette DeGarady better access and manageability. \$5,000 is in the account to manage the Vitex grant.

Membership was discussed and the dues from members that obtain membership through the SE EPPC website are sent to the SC EPPC to deposit into the account. Also, the group suggested that the website manager is contacted to update the chapter link on the SE EPPC website and the SC EPPC website with the new board members and other related information. Robin Mackie will be the contact person from SC EPPC to do this.

The group discussed changing the bylaws to be able to expand the board. This would help to gain a broader point of view and expertise by potentially include members from the nurseryman, forestry, and chemical industry. This will be voted on or discussed further at the next meeting.

The committee chairs were discussed and the current chairs are listed above. Barbara Daniels suggested that the Kudzu Task Force be split into "Urban Kudzu" and "Kudzu" Task Forces, with Barbara Daniels leading up the Urban Kudzu and Newt Hardee leading the Kudzu Task Force. A number of suggestions for the SC Invasive Plant List Committee were suggested including John Nelson, Jan Halderman, Joel Gramling, and Patrick McMillan. It was suggested that Randy Westbrooks participate on the committee. The group discussed updating the non-native invasive species plant list quarterly and possibly sending out questionnaires (done by the committee chair) to botanists to determine if any plants should be added to the list.

The group decided that an updated email list was needed with the email addresses for the membership. Also, they felt like the organization should be in a continual state of recruitment.

Colette DeGarady asked that the chairmen write up a list of goals for their committee to present at the next meeting. It was suggested that the committee chairmen also look at the membership and contact members they may be interested in having on their committee and this may be followed up by a general letter to the remaining members. Carrie Miller keeps the state list of active members for the SEEPPC and Colette will request this list.

After appropriate motion and second the board was voted in.

The group decided the next meeting will be held August 23, 2006 at 10:00 am at Congaree National Park.

The call ended at 3:00 pm.